Associate professor Antanas Gulbinas from NUSOM was announced as the laureate of the Lithuanian Science Prize 2019

New photo – finish

Associate professor Antanas Gulbinas from Nazarbayev University School of Medicine was announced as the laureate of the Lithuanian Science Prize 2019. The commission of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences awarded the Prize to Dr. Antanas Gulbinas together with Prof. Habil. Dr. Giedrius Barauskas and Prof. Dr. Žilvinas Dambrauskas in the field of biomedicine. The Lithuanian Science Awards are awarded annually for fundamental and applied research and experimental (social, cultural) development work significant to Lithuania. With only up to seven awards in different areas for research performed over a period of 15 years it is the most prestigious science award in Lithuania. In the field of biomedicine the prize was awarded for Dr. Gulbinas and colleagues scientific work on “Investigation of Molecular Mechanisms of Pancreatic Inflammatory and Tumour Diseases. Optimisation of Diagnostic and Treatment Methods”. The considered period of 2004-2018 is covering research in molecular biology, medical, and surgical sciences combining fundamental research in cell cultures and/or animal models with clinical data (survival, complications, need for interventions, outcome of treatment, etc.). Their research has provided fundamental insights into the mechanisms of disease development, diagnostics and prognosis of outcomes, improved and expanded clinical protocols for screening, risk assessment, treatment, and perioperative care of patients with acute and chronic pancreatitis and pancreatic cancer. The importance of this work is particularly emphasized by their international recognition: Their results have been presented many times in international congresses, and published in international journals (more 50 articles) that are widely cited in other publications, systematic literature reviews and importantly also in international treatment recommendations.

Dr. Gulbinas has joined NUSOM in the beginning of 2019. He is the Program Director of General Surgery Residency program and member of the NUSOM research committee. Congratulations and best wishes for his next adventures!